Sustainability 2050

Joint project with the Leuphana University of Lüneburg

As young people, students will be most affected by the consequences of today's economy. Either they will face the consequences in the form of climate change and a resource crisis or they will have to shoulder the turnaround to a sustainable society.

We can now describe very precisely what has to happen in order to make Germany and Europe sustainable: CO2 emissions must be reduced by 90%, the economy has to become green and efficient - and perhaps even renounce growth. What is currently missing are successful blue prints for a sustainable year 2050.

The research project starts here. A team of 29 students, together with experts, explore the boundaries of our economic activity and actions and develop concrete future projects. Scientific and lay perspectives are used together to develop scientifically sound, and at the same time socially acceptable, future perspectives that describe a sustainable life in 2050.

Nachhaltigkeit 2050

Gemeinschaftsprojekt mit der Leuphana Universität Lüneburg

Als heute junge Menschen werden Studierende am stärksten von den Folgen der heutigen Wirtschaftsweise betroffen sein: Entweder werden sie die Folgen in Form von Klimawandel und Ressourcenkrise zu spüren bekommen oder aber sie müssen die Wende in eine nachhaltige Gesellschaft schultern.
Wir können derzeit sehr genau beschreiben, was passieren muss, damit Deutschland und Europa nachhaltig werden: Der CO2-Ausstoß muss um 90% verringert werden, die Wirtschaft sehr schnell grün und effizient werden – und vielleicht sogar dem Wachstum entsagen. Woran es derzeit fehlt, sind gelingende Lebensentwürfe für ein nachhaltiges Jahr 2050.

Das Forschungsprojekt setzt hier an. Ein Team von 29 Studierenden lotet gemeinsam mit Experten die Grenzen unseres Wirtschaftens und Handelns aus und entwickelt konkrete Zukunftsentwürfe. In der Gegenüberstellung von wissenschaftlichen Perspektiven und Laienperspektiven sollen so fachlich fundierte und gleichzeitig gesellschaftlich akzeptierte Zukunftsperpektiven entwickelt werden, die ein nachhaltiges Leben 2050 beschreiben.