Today’s Institute of Education goes back to the founding of the Pädagogisches Institut (Pedagogical Institute) in 1968. After the merger with the Institut für Sonderpädagogik (Institute of Special Education) in 2009, the institute was given its new name: Institute of Education.

In 2012 the Institute of Education merged with the Institute of Upper Secondary Education Studies and Vocational Education and Training. With two locations (Freiestrasse and Kantonsschulstrasse), the Institute of Education is divided into 12 chairs (fields of study) and a Research Unit. Approximately 2,000 students are enrolled in the different degree programs.

The degree programs cover two areas. First, the Institute of Education offers a Bachelor’s and a Master’s degree program in education and a MA degree program in education with focus on special education. It also offers several PhD programs. Second, the Department for Teacher Training for Upper Secondary Schools (LLBM) offers a program for obtaining the Teaching Diploma for Secondary Education. The LLBM also offers continuing education opportunities: Starting a Secondary School Teaching Career and Continuing Education for Secondary School Teachers.